COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (KRDO) -- A Burn Ban is going into effect Monday in the City of Colorado Springs.
After a discussion with the Pikes Peak Region Wildfire Preparedness Group, by and through the Division of the Fire Marshal, the Colorado Springs Fire Department (CSFD) has determined to enact Burn Ban Orders. The CSFD said this decision was made due to the current and forecasted drought conditions, low moisture levels, and increase in grass fires
These restrictions will go into effect starting at noon on Monday, May 16.
According to the CSFD, violators of the Burn Ban could face:
- $2,500 fine,
- Up to 189 days in jail
- A sentence to probation
- A combination of a fine, imprisonment, or probation.
The department states fires caused in violation of the orders will be investigated as a misdemeanor or a felony crime, resulting in penalties provided under Colorado State statutes.
Below is a look at what is and what isn't allowed under the Burn Ban.
Watch a press conference below discussing the new Burn Ban:
Report possible violations of the orders to the Colorado Springs Police Department (CSPD) at 719-444-7000.
The outdoor burn ban guidelines and additional fire safety information can be found here.