COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (KRDO) - The Colorado Springs Fire Department and the El Paso County Sheriff's Office have initiated outdoor burning restrictions as a response to current and forecasted conditions, and in an effort to curb fire risks in the city.
The Fountain Police Department also issued Stage II fire restrictions on Monday.
The citywide burn ban order will go into effect at noon on Monday, Aug. 24., and will remain in effect until it's officially rescinded.
Outdoor barbecue grills that are fueled by liquid propane gas, natural gas, or liquid fuel are allowed. However, outdoor cooking, smoking, and grilling, is prohibited in all city-owned parks and open spaces. That applies to Colorado Springs and Fountain.
Additionally, outdoor cigarette smoking is not allowed in any city-owned parks and open spaces, and any uncontained recreational fires are prohibited. Hot work activities such as welding, torching, and blasting, may be allowed with a permit.
The use of recreational fireworks is prohibited, as is the burning of trash or rubbish. At this time no permits will be issued for bonfires, model rockets, or open/prescribed burns.
Violators of the current burn ban order may be subject to a fine of up to $2,500, a jail sentence of up to 189 days, probation, or a combination of the three. Any fires that are started in violation of the order will be investigated as a crime and may carry its own penalties.
This comes as the El Paso County Sheriff's Office elevated Fire Restrictions throughout the county to Stage II. Under Stage II fire restrictions, open burning is prohibited across El Paso County. This includes campfires and warming fires, charcoal grills and outdoor wood-burning stoves, the use of explosives, outdoor welding, or torches with open flames other than in an area cleared of all flammable materials. Fires that are contained within liquid-fueled or gas-fueled stoves are still allowed.
Fireworks will not be allowed under Stage II restrictions, and outdoor smoking will only be allowed within an enclosed vehicle or building.
Anyone caught violating the county restrictions may be subject to a fine of up to $1,000.